Who We Are

Meet our Founders

The Clothworkers' Foundation was founded by The Clothworkers’ Company in 1977. Today, The Company is a membership organisation that aims to use its position and wealth to support British textiles, champion trusteeship, and invest in social good and philanthropy – following the initial endowment, The Company transfers more than £2 million in surplus funds to The Foundation each year.

The Clothworkers' Company has a long history of charitable giving, going back almost 500 years when one of the functions of The Company was to support members who had fallen on hard times. In the 1500s, to fulfil the longstanding object of ‘relief of poverty’, The Company began to pay pensions to members in financial difficulty and, by 1540, it maintained alms houses in locations including the City of London and Islington. The Company has also worked to improve the lives of blind and visually impaired people for at least 300 years. Over the centuries, as The Company’s wealth increased, and it started to help non-members, but it was not until 1977 that The Company created and endowed The Clothworkers’ Foundation as its primary channel for philanthropy.


MEet the Team

Chief Executive: Jocelyn Stuart-Grumbar

Director of Finance, Property and Investments: Hamesh Patel

Director of Grants: Philip Howard

  • Learning and Development Manager: Patrick O'Kelly
  • Grants Manager: Laura Street
  • Grants Officer: Ayesha Tariq
  • Grants Officer: Nelly Koko-Konan
  • Grants Officer: Jack Abbotts
  • Grants Assistant: Catherine Godack

All staff are employed by Ramteazle Limited (a wholly owned subsidiary of The Clothworkers' Company) and are engaged under a service agreement together with other relevant staff on The Company team - in areas such as finance and administration.

MEEt the Board of Trustees

Chair: Dr Lucy Rawson

Deputy Chair: Hanif Virji

Ex Officio: Alex Nelson


  • Andrew Blessley
  • Denis Clough
  • Chloe Holness
  • Charlie Hutchins
  • Emma Ingham Clark
  • Michael Jarvis
  • Susanna O’Leary
  • Ola Opoosun
  • Neel Patani
  • Philip Portal
  • Oonagh Smyth
  • Tom Stoddart-Scott
  • Andrew Wates